May 25, 2016


Avon Council appoints new directors at organizational meeting

AVON — Mayor Bryan Jensen made several appointments during an organizational meeting of City Council on Thursday.

City Law Director John Gasior, Finance Director William Logan and Parks Director Diane Corrao were reappointed. Kurt Schatschneider was also reappointed to the Board of Zoning and Building Appeals, and James Malloy to the Planning Commission.

Superintendent of streets, Mike Farmer, was appointed to the city’s Public Service Commission after a recommendation by Jensen and approval by Council members.

Jensen appointed himself to the director of Public Safety position, and the appointment was approved by Council.

On Thursday, Council also elected a president of Council — eight-year Councilman Craig Witherspoon. Councilman Dan Urban was selected to fill the pro-tempore position.

Ellen Young will maintain her clerk of Council position, as will Gayle Hayden, the assistant clerk of Council.