May 1, 2016


Seven individuals, two teams to be inducted into Lorain Hall of Fame

Seven individuals and two teams will be inducted into the Lorain Sports Hall of Fame at its annual enshrinement banquet at DeLuca’s Place in the Park on May 1.

Donald Church, Kyle Lathwell, Eric Morrison, Daniel Yurovich, Bradley Frank, Jose Tirado and James Turton will be enshrined under the regular category. The 1979 Clearview track team and the 1996 Lorain United Polish Club men’s fastpitch softball team will be inducted under the team category.

Dan Breen, who was a standout basketball and cross country/track athlete at Lorain High School, will be inducted under the special category as his girls high school basketball coaching career in Iowa also will be recognized.

The 2014 class:

DONALD CHURCH (1995 Lorain High School graduate): A two-year starter at tailback for the Steelmen, Church scored 22 touchdowns and rushed for almost 2,300 yards during his junior and senior seasons. A team captain those two seasons, he received several first-team postseason honors and was named most valuable player for the Erie Shore Conference.

Church went on to Ashland University, where he earned four football letters and was a three-year starter at running back for the Eagles. He was the school’s freshman player of the year and gained more than 2,700 yards and scored 29 touchdowns during his sophomore, junior and senior seasons. He also had six games with at least 100 rushing yards. He was named first-team All-Midwest Intercollegiate Football Conference, as well as the league’s offensive back of the year. He finished his Ashland career with a school-record 35 touchdowns.

KYLE LATHWELL (1991 Lorain High School graduate): Lathwell excelled on the basketball court, where she earned four varsity letters and received several postseason honors, including the Lorain County Miss Basketball award following her senior season. She also played on several championship AAU teams during the summer.

Lathwell received a full basketball scholarship from Kent State, where she played in 24 games as a freshman. Her first seasons as a Golden Flash brought several honors, including some of the academic variety. She suffered a broken wrist as a senior, limiting her playing time.

ERIC MORRISON (1981 Admiral King High School graduate): Morrison played basketball as a sophomore, junior and senior, leading the Admirals to the state championship game his final season. The Admirals won 23 games that year, the most in school history at the time. He received several postseason honors following his senior season and also was inducted as a member of the school’s National Honor Society.

Morrison went on to play for three seasons at Capital University, where he finished with 1,126 career points and was recognized as one of the top defenders in the Ohio Athletic Conference following his senior season.

DANIEL YUROVICH (1980 Lorain High School graduate): Yurovich was one of several Steemen to earn a spot on the All-1980s football team for Lorain schools. He received several first-team honors following his senior season and also earned varsity letters in baseball and basketball while at Lorain High. As a safety, he was chosen the Best Defensive Player in Lorain County following his senior season.

Yurovich received an appointment to the U.S. Naval Academy, where he participated in the intramural program, excelling in football, basketball and softball. He also was undefeated as a boxer during his four-year career (20-0) at Annapolis and was the runner-up as the Brigade of Midshipmen, Intramural Athlete of the Year in 1985, a class of 1,057 members.

BRADLEY FRANK (1972 Lorain High School graduate): Frank starred in basketball from his sophomore through senior seasons. As a senior, he averaged 20.7 points per game, including scoring a single-game high of 43 points as he became the school’s career scoring leader (998 points). He also was honored with several postseason awards following his senior season.

Frank went on to excel at St. Clair Community College in Michigan before receiving an athletic scholarship to attend the University of Minnesota-Duluth. He graduated from UM-Duluth in 1977 with a bachelor’s degree in elementary education. He returned to his hometown and coached boys and girls basketball for more than 20 years.

JOSE TIRADO (1974 Southview High School graduate): Tirado earned three letters in football and four varsity letters in track as a Saint. After high school, he attended Pen State in 1974, where he played football during his freshman year before transferring to Baldwin-Wallace. He excelled for the Yellow Jackets during his junior and senior seasons after having to sit out his sophomore season because of a transfer rule. During his senior season (1978), he was a member of Baldwin-Wallace’s Division III national championship team, playing for legendary coach Lee Tressel. He was the leading receiver on that team and caught a record four touchdown passes in the playoff games. His senior-season totals included 34 catches for 595 yards (17.5 yards per catch) and five touchdowns.

JAMES TURTON (1960 Lorain High School graduate): Turton was a two-way lineman for the Steelmen and also excelled as a sprinter on the school’s track team. He earned several postseason honors following his senior season and went on to play on a U.S. Army football team in West Germany.

Special category inductee Dan Breen, a 1967 Lorain High graduate, continued his basketball career at Lorain County Community College before he transferred to Parsons College. As a girls basketball coach in Iowa, his 1983 team won a state championship when Iowa was a “one class” state with nearly 500 schools competing for one title. His 1983 exploits earned him the Iowa Kodak Coach of the Year award. He received several other awards during a career in which he posted a 336-60 record. His teams won 13 straight conference championships, had 13 consecutive seasons of at least 20 wins, appeared in six state tournaments and had five straight Final Four appearances.

The 1979 Clearview High School track team won the school’s second straight Class A state championship, giving the Clippers a county record three state titles (the first championship came in 1973). Mark Walden was the star of the 1979 team as he won state titles in the 220-yard dash (22.7 seconds) and the 440-yard dash (49.1 seconds) and anchored the Clippers’ state championship mile relay team. He was joined on that relay team by Mike Walsh, A.C. Witherspoon and Tito Flores. During the regular season, the Clippers won several other championships before capturing the sectional and district titles en route to their season-ending title in Columbus.

The 1996 Lorain United Polish Club men’s fastpitch softball team won the American Softball Association national championship in College Station, Texas, winning nine of 10 games in the Texas heat to claim the title.