April 18, 2015


State takeover of Lorain Schools underway

LORAIN – The academic takeover of Lorain Schools began today with the naming of a five-member Academic Distress Commission. The state-appointed members are Commission Chairman William Zelei, Rosa Rivera-Hainaj and Cathy Deitlin. The locally-appointed members are Henry Patterson and Raul Ramos. Ramos is a Lorain County Community College professor and former Lorain Board of Education Read More…

Lorain Schools expects interim soon, acceptance of Atkinson’s resignation delayed

LORAIN — An interim Lorain Schools superintendent could be named by week’s end. Board of Education Chairman Tony Dimacchia said Tuesday that board members will interview candidates this week and are looking for someone outside the district with superintendent experience and the ability to get a 1.5 percent earned income tax school levy passed by Read More…

Lorain superintendent one of two considered by Atlanta Schools

Lorain Superintendent Cheryl Atkinson is now one of two finalists for the Atlanta Schools’ superintendent job after a third finalist dropped out of the running. Barbara M. Jenkins, an Atlanta native and deputy superintendent of schools in Orange County, Fla., removed herself from consideration earlier in the week, said Atlanta Schools Spokesman Keith Bromery. No Read More…